MHM Mental Health Tribunal Members Association

13th Annual General Meeting Minutes

Thursday 19th October 2023 from 10.30am – 11.00am Friends Meeting House, London

Welcome from MHTMA Chair, Pamela Charlwood, to the 13th annual general meeting. It is assumed that everyone has read the reports which were circulated on 19th September.

1. Apologies

· Please see Appendix for a full list of apologies.

2. 12th MHTMA AGM Meeting (2022) Minutes

- · The Chair asked members if they had any concerns about the accuracy of the minutes.
- The minutes were approved by a majority of those present.

3. Chair's Report

- · A full Chair's report was circulated in advance and has been published on the website.
 - o The Chair expressed gratitude to Carolyn Taylor and Sue Green for taking on the role of Joint Chair.
 - o Extraordinary 6 years, with a lot happening for MHTMA, the country and mental health. It is sad that the Mental Health Bill seems to not be proceeding.
 - o MHTMA are consulted on more issues, both informally and formally, by MOJ. Discussion area on website is useful and member contributions are valuable.
 - o Awaiting with interest the results of Working Practice Review.
 - o Met 3 times this year via video link with Sarah Johnson, Joan Rutherford and Denise Leeson. Attendance at Forum of Tribunals by Carolyn Taylor is helpful to get feedback and contribute views of MHTMA at an early stage. Della Fallon attends the stakeholder committee.
 - o The Chair thanked Margaret Stevenson for leading working groups, Della Fallon in her role as treasurer and Zoe Payne for her administration work.
 - o We need to recruit more members so please encourage those you sit with to join. MHTMA is attempting to increase its profile at training events.
- · No members raised questions.

4. Treasurer's Report

- Della Fallon thanked the Pam for her huge contribution to MHTMA.
- A full report was circulated in advance. It has been published on the website along with the 2022-2023 accounts.
- MHTMA has moved into a digital way of working this year, so everything is online. This increases transparency and the independent examination is simpler.
- Increased bank balance of circa £29k. £10k is in a higher interest account. Membership fees have not been raised over the years but we no longer meet regularly in person, so expenses are far less.
- Daniel Pearce-Higgins questioned how much we need in reserves and suggested a charitable donation. Della Fallon explained MHTMA must hold £2.5k in reserve under the terms of cyber insurance. Other things to consider are GDPR costs and cancelling the conference.
- Roshan Bailey mentioned the potential for taking legal advice on issues to look at how we can link in with other people. Daniel Pearce-Higgins highlighted the difficulty of legal interests of members are not identical. Sue Green clarified that some of suggested ideas MHTMA AGM 19th October 2023

DRAFT

require us to change the constitution as it is limited regarding the expenditure of funds. Email Zoe Payne with views and suggestions for addressing the surplus.

- · Change in the constitution is recommended to allow other committee members to make payments in absence of treasurer.
- No members raised any questions.
- To approve the accounts for 2023/24 proposed Hasanen Al-Tiair, seconded Roshan Bailey, no abstentions or votes against.
- To approve the appointment of Gibson Whitter as accountants for the year 2023/24 proposed Tony Holton, seconded Neil Boast.

5. Changes to Constitution

- A covering paper was circulated prior to the AGM and the main proposed changes were highlighted.
- Approach from member in Jersey asking to join MHTMA. Constitution currently refers to MHT in England. Therefore create a new category called affiliate, lower annual fee and no voting rights for members from a part of UK other than England, and Channel Islands.
- · Query about Isle of Man. Decided to leave as is for this year in terms of proposed change.
 - o The proposed changes are:
 - 2.3, 4.3 and 4.9: Affiliate Membership proposed by Danny Allen, seconded by Roshan Bailey
 - 8.2 Online payments proposed by Amanda Thompsell, seconded by Simon Dixey.
 - Block vote and all approved with no abstentions or votes against. 2 proxy votes cast by the chair.

6. Executive Committee Elections

- · Farewell to Pamela Charlwood, Ian Dumont and Steve Powell. Presentation of card to SP.
- · Remaining committee members are Neil Boast, Simon Dixey, Sue Green, Julia Krish, Pippa North and Margaret Stevenson.
- · Two members to be renewed Carolyn Taylor and Della Fallon.
- 4 people are willing to stand which would bring the committee to 12, nominations previously sent in email with AGM documentation.
 - a. Angela Barney Specialist Member
 - b. Sarah Barrington Kendall Specialist Member
 - c. Anne Jasper Medical Member
 - d. Clifford Piarroux Specialist Member
 - Block vote and all approved with no abstentions or votes against. 2 proxy votes cast by the chair. Proposed by Carolyn Taylor, seconded by Roshan Bailey.

7. Resolutions from members

· None received

8. AOB

- · A thank you card was presented to Pamela Charlwood by Carolyn Taylor.
- The meeting closed at 11:02.

Minutes compiled by Zoe Payne

DRAFT

Appendix: Attendees, Apologies and Proxies

<u>Attendees</u>

Anthony Holton Al-Taiar Jane Hutchison Hasanen Anne Jasper Danny Allen Knight Elaine Anderson Sarah Roshan Bailey Jacqueline Lefton Ball Nikoletta Rosemary Lekka Marion Barber Pippa North Elizabeth Parameshwar Angela Barney Sarah Barrington-Kendall Zoe Payne Pearce-Higgins Sylvia Bloomberg Daniel Neil Boast Cliff Piarroux Campbell Powell Mavis Steve Janet Carrick Dawn Robson Pamela Charlwood Jennifer Rogers Jeffrey Cohen Peter Simmons Karen Dauncey Corinne Singer Alexandra Margaret Stevenson Day Stuart-Smith Simon Dixey Mary James Ellison Carol Swaffer

Della Fallon
lan Gillman-Smith
Janet Giscir
Sue Green
Lynda Greenwood
Erika Harris
Michael Hayward

<u>Apologies</u>

Michael Bellamy Carey Burton Andrew Jackman Julia Krish Camini Kumar Elizabeth Simpson Joan Smithies Rhian Williams-Flew Ingrid Wilson

Tanner

Taylor

Taylor

Thompsell

Mark

Carolyn

Christine

Amanda