DRAFT

MHM Mental Health Tribunal Members Association

14th Annual General Meeting Minutes

Thursday 17th October 2024 from 10.30am – 11.00am Friends Meeting House, London

Welcome from MHTMA Joint Chair, Carolyn Taylor, to the 14th annual general meeting. It is assumed that everyone has read the reports which were circulated on 9th September.

1. Apologies

· Please see Appendix for a full list of apologies.

2. 13th MHTMA AGM Meeting (2023) Minutes

- · The Co-Chair asked members if they had any concerns about the accuracy of the minutes.
- The minutes were approved by a majority of those present and will be posted on the website.

3. Co-Chair's Report

- · A full Chair's report was circulated in advance and has been published on the website.
 - o Being co-chairs has worked well, drawing on strengths and meeting regularly to continue the work of association.
 - o Exec meetings are principally on Teams and scheduled at the end of the day to recognise professional commitments. The committee only meets in person once a year.
 - o The committee were pleased to welcome 4 new members last year and grateful for their contribution and active participation. Sarah Barrington-Kendal does not feel able to continue sadly. Thanks were expressed to her
 - o The committee continues to meet with the Deputy Chamber President and secretariat in Leicester which enables us to communicate news to members. The co-chairs also meet with the Chamber President on occasion and plan to do so before the end of the year.
 - It has been a year of consultations, although a number were placed on hold due to the general election but we expect to be engaged responding to more this year.
 MTHMA responses are published on the website. The joint chair expressed gratitude to all on the sub committees and members who have contributed to responses to consultations.
 - o Website is now more accessible and enables committee to share news items. Please participate in the discussion area.
 - o The co-chair thanked Simon Dixey for his contribution as Secretary and Anne Jasper is going to take up the role going forwards. Zoe Payne was thanked for her hard work and guidance. Cards were presented to both.
- No members raised questions.

4. Treasurer's Report

- A full report was circulated in advance. It has been published on the website along with the 2023-2024 accounts. There were no questions from the attendees about the accounts or report.
- To approve the accounts for 2023/24
 - o There was a discussion about the amount being held in the account.
 - Angela Barney proposed, Anne Jasper seconded. Approved with no abstentions or votes against and 1 proxy vote cast by Pamela Charlwood.

DRAFT

- Surplus of circa £21,000 is more than we need to hold. No suggestions were received prior to the AGM from members as to how to manage this.
- Pamela Charlwood thanked the committee for thinking of those with higher train fares and longer journeys by offering free places at conference.
- · Neil Boast mentioned website expenditure and subsidised attendance.
- To approve the appointment of Gibson Whitter as accountants for the year 2024/25 –
 proposed Angela Barney, seconded Pamela Charlwood. Approved with no abstentions or
 votes against and 1 proxy vote cast by Pamela Charlwood.
- This year expenditure will be higher due to inflation and the cost of insurance has gone up, as will other bills.
- Membership Fee Proposal considering how to manage surplus we considered level of income needed and a pragmatic way to reduce fees with affect from tomorrow if agreed.

o Legal Restricted Member Fee: £58 to £50
o Legal Non-Restricted Member Fee: £46 to £40
o Medical Member Fee: £45 to £39
o Specialist Member Fee: £21 to £15

o Please amend standing orders from 18th October. There was a show of hands to approve the reduction in fees. Majority of members in attendance voted in favour.

5. Changes to Constitution

No proposals have been suggested in advance or received by the committee.

6. Executive Committee Elections

- · Farewell to Simon Dixey and Sarah Barrington Kendal.
- Remaining committee members are Angela Barney, Della Fallon, Sue Green, Anne Jasper, Julia Krish, Pippa North, Clifford Piarroux and Carolyn Taylor.
 - Two members to be renewed Neil Boast and Margaret Stevenson. Angela Barney proposed and Anne Jasper seconded. Approved with no objections or abstentions and 1 proxy vote cast by Pamela Charlwood.
 - o 2 people are willing to stand which would bring the committee to 12.
 - Mary Whittle Medical Member Proposed by Neil Boast, seconded by Carolyn Taylor. Approved with no abstentions or votes against. 1 proxy vote cast by Pamela Charlwood
 - Karen Dauncey Medical Member Proposed by Neil Boast, seconded by Mary Whittle. Approved with no abstentions or votes against. 1 proxy vote cast by Pamela Charlwood.
- Next year MHTMA will lose a lot of committee members whose term in office will end.
 Committee is looking for new members of all disciplines next year and is inclusive, multi-disciplinary and interesting. Please contact the joint chairs to find out more, and arrange to observe a meeting.

7. Resolutions from members

None received.

8. AOB

- · Roshan Bailey thanked the committee for their hard work.
- The meeting closed at 10:57.

Minutes compiled by Zoe Payne

DRAFT

Appendix: Attendees, Apologies and Proxies

Attendees

Farhana Ahmed Danny Allen Mark Allsopp Roshan Bailey Marion Barber Angela Barney Michael Bellamy Sylvia Bloomberg Neil Boast Mavis Campbell Janet Carrick Clare Chambers Pamela Charlwood Karen Dauncey Dixey Simon Della Fallon Sasha Francis Simon Garlick Martin Gee Gillman-Smith lan Sue Green Erika Harris Catherine Hartley Victoria **James** Anne Jasper Denzil Johnson Sarah Kniaht Krish Julia

Lubbaba Lodhi Amy Lyon Christopher Marchment Tim McInerny Emma Moir Pippa North Nick O'Brien Akidi Ocan David Orekoya Elizabeth Parameshwar Rajeeve Parkianathan Zoe Payne Cliff **Piarroux** Debbie Postgate Ramana Ranjini Helen Rees Rosie Sarrington Joan **Smithies** Debbie Stephenson Margaret Stevenson Mark **Tanner** Carolyn **Taylor** Mareena Tshabala Amanda Thompsell Timehin Clive Joanne Turner Mary Whittle Jessica Wyman

Apologies

Chris

Jackie

Julie Austin
Rosemary Ball
Sarah Barrington-Kendall
Nigel Bonson
Jacqui Briggs
Saroj Chhabra
Barbara Deacon-Hedges
Michael Hayward
Richard Hiller
Peter Hindley
Sheila Hudson

Lee

Lefton

Jane Hutchison
Andrew Jackman
Elaine Mackie
Ram Menon
Steve Powell
Mandy Sheeran
Pinky Singhal
Neil Robinson
Rhian Williams-Flew